What I Learned About Running a Blog Tour

We recently wrapped up the first blog tour I have ever organized and run myself. It was rewarding and exhausting, thrilling and nerve wracking… And I cannot wait to do it again!

I have participated in a few blog tours during my short career, but I haven’t had to do too much. Just answer interview questions, get my links together, and go; it was pretty straight forward. When I had my first experience with book piracy, I thought that organizing a tour would be the best way to raise awareness and get people to learn more about book piracy. My first thought was “This will be easy.” Yeah… right.

No matter how organized you think you are, there is always more to be done.

I obsessed about making this tour perfect. I had a sign up sheet and let the authors determine what days they wanted to do. I even had some authors generously volunteer several freebies, but I wanted to make sure that they were given a decent spread. I think that was my problem. I tried to spread books out too thin and ended up with more books at the end of the tour than the beginning. Looking back, it would have made more sense, and been more rewarding for the authors that donated several books to have their own day. That way one offs, prequels, and the first book of a series would be given a better lay out. Of course, there is the sense of build up and encouraging people to follow the tour because the more days they follow, the more books they get. I’m still playing with this idea, so hopefully I have it perfected for the next tour.

Authors have their own lives.

You know, as an author, I tend to get wrapped up in my own little world. I think part of my issue was that I didn’t give the authors enough time to process the fact that there was a tour before getting them to get their books ready. Personal emergencies and life in general happens. Granted, I had some of the most amazing authors to work with, so I didn’t care if the internet caught fire, just to say that I was able to work with these people was a blessing. In the next tour, I am going to announce it with enough time for everyone to get their stuff in before the posts need to be scheduled.

Sometimes people can’t help themselves

I don’t want to be too specific about the situation because they know who they are, but I learned that I can only do so much on my end. What I can be specific about it that rude people will be ejected from the tour and not allowed to participate in future tours. We are all doing this on a volunteer basis. Not once will an author or blogger be charged to participate. However, I still expect some level of professionalism and courtesy from everyone that wants to be involved. Granted, the authors and bloggers that ended up being on the tour were amazing and I cannot wait to work with them again!

Giveaways are awesome!

We did a $20 Amazon gift card giveaway with this last tour. I am paying for the card out of my own pocket and there has been a delay with the funds, so that is why the winner has not been announced yet but they will soon. What I would like to see happen in the next tour is do a bundle/ gift basket giveaway. Perhaps have authors donate autographed books or swag and put first through third prize baskets together for people. More detail needs to be put together, obviously, but I would love to do something like that.

We can never have too many people volunteering to donate books, give space on their blog, or even just spread the word.

While the group on Facebook isn’t huge right now, we are always accepting new authors and bloggers that want to help spread the word. The tour is not limited to a specific genre or a specific blog type. We had Paranormal, Romance, Sci-Fi and more in our last tour, and there are so many other fantastic genres out there that we would love to see join us. If you or someone you know is interested in the group, or being involved in anyway, please join our Facebook group and help us spread the word about ebook piracy.

All in all this tour was an amazingly rewarding and inspiring venture for me, and I am happy to say that it will be continued. I have big plans for the tour in the future and as it grows, I will share them all with you.

 

By the way, even though we are not running a tour right now, you can still get free books! Several authors that participated in the tour have permanently free books available every single day. We have started compiling a list on the blog under a brand new section called “Books“. To keep everything neat and pretty, I have added cover images for each of the free books. Those images link directly to the author’s Amazon listing. I will say that we preached about looking out for click bait, so if you are uncomfortable clicking the image, you can search for the book on Amazon and use the cover image to help you find the right book!

Thank you again for all of your support. We look forward to bringing you more free books in the future.

About Maegan Provan

I am an indie author and proud of it. I try to update as much as humanly possible, but I'm a busy bee.

Posted on June 4, 2015, in Blog Tour, Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I think you did a great job! There’s always something that gets missed or overlooked – it’s like that elusive typo in the book – even the traditionally pubbed will still have one.

    Having done a few blog hops/tours, one thing I might suggest too (it’s more work though!) is to set up an example post (I did mine as a Page on my blog with no links to it anywhere unless I gave someone the link) and send the example post out to the authors so they can see kind of “how” to do their posts, that way it ends up being more uniform and helps with confused authors 🙂 Other than that, i can;t think of anything – as I said you did an awesome job and I would be happy to donate a book or whatever for gift baskets!

    • Thank you for the suggestion. That is not a bad idea and I will put it together. I think doing like gift baskets or care packages or something would be pretty awesome.

  2. Thanks to all your hard work, it was an awesome tour. I appreciate everything you did to get the word out about piracy. I can’t wait until the next tour.

Leave a Reply

My Witchy Path

Walking the path of the Goddess, one step at a time.

Parenting PTSD

Parenting Children with PTSD

REDEFINE RADICAL: STYLE BY AMY

See: Beautiful, Elegant, Bold

Three Quarters & Counting

Everyday activities of blogger who (age wise) is "three quarters and counting."

Silver RavenWolf

Author Blog -- The Crow at the Crossroads

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Authors to Watch

Discover a new book today!

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Jane Dougherty Writes

About fantastical places and other stuff

ramblingsfromthedarkness.wordpress.com/

Blogging from your phone has never been so...full of typos?

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

authorsinterviews

My interviews with many authors

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Punch Myself in the Face

The things that run through my brain every day

Paige Matthews

Erotica with a side of Kink

cnlesley

C.N. Lesley writes fantasy and science fiction books

E. J. Rycer

Follow an aspiring author on her literary journey!

Brianna soloski, Word Master

i eat words for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

rushboundblog

Crescent Bound and More

patrick o'scheen

Patrick O'Scheen --author

New Adult Fiction Addiction

Where Readers and Writers of New Adult Fiction Connect

wetinkpresspublishing

Pre-publishing Services for eBooks and Print Publications

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Darker Passions

Reviews and more of PNR, UF, and darker things.

Random Musings of a Pseudo-Madman, Version 2.0

The sometimes insightful, but many times inane observations of a self-proclaimed Sh*thead living on one side of the proverbial wormhole of existence.

Jennifer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Kanundra's Blog

Writing and life. Life and writing.

Cally Jackson Writes

Inspired, hopeful, aspiring author

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Shaven Wookiee

NO DROIDS WERE HARMED IN THE MAKING OF THIS BLOG....

darkparanormalromanceseries

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

JULIANN RICH

WRITER. PFLAG MOM. ADVOCATE.

Wendy Nystrom

Life As A Published Author

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Lisa V. Proulx, Author/Speaker

Official Website of Author Lisa V. Proulx

The Writer's Block

Authors and Books R us, tell everyone about us.

twilightofmagic

Where does magic begin...and end?

Cold

The way revenge is best served; the way a war was fought; the way a story should be told. ©

Prescription For Murder

MURDER...MAYHEM...MEDICINE

...And Everything in Between...

Welcome to the world of my Life, my Writing and Everything in Between...

