Holy Cow

I honestly could not think of a real title, so you are just going to have to live with the post entitled “Holy Cow.”

 

I have a lot I want to talk about in this post and I really hope that I don’t forget something. I want to talk about authors’ rights and homophobia. Please stick with me because I promise I am going to tie them in together.

I know that when I share a post about some crazy author that has destroyed their career for standing up for themselves against bullies, I have preached the “take it quietly” stance. I know that saying that and then sharing posts about authors’ rights might come off as a bit contradictory. So, I’ve decided I am going to clear a few things up. My mother always taught me that if I didn’t have anything nice to say, I shouldn’t say anything at all. It took me a long time to learn that. Some of my book reviews that I have written might come off as mean, and go against that, but trust me when I say I try to keep my reviews constructive. I try to be diplomatic when it comes to confrontation. I state the facts as I see them and move on. Most authors are this way, as well. Sometimes, though, one person gets rubbed the wrong way, or loves drama and everything goes down hill very quickly.

Authors continue to get labeled as BBA because they take standing up for themselves too far. Like Kathleen Hale, who stalked a troll and went to her house.  Or countless other authors who have taken the whole “fight back” stance too literally. Of course, reviewers are just as bad, if not worse. If one reviewer builds up enough of a following, their one bad review can destroy an author’s career before it can even get started. “Social” review sites like Goodreads are a breeding ground for the hate mongers. They will gnaw and rip away at an author until that author snaps and acts out. Of course, there are authors that poke and prod at the reviewers just to get attention so that they can victimize themselves and make the whole situation worse. The whole thing is rather a vicious, fucked up circle. And there are authors who bully other authors because they think they can. Then there are the scammers who try to extort authors and when an author calls them out on their bullshit, the author gets a bad review. (Basically everybody finds a reason to fight.)

So authors, in order to save their careers, keep quiet and let the bullies and trolls walk all over them because their careers can’t afford to be ruined. Someone like myself who has two novels and four short stories really can’t afford to get on the bad side of the masses because my “career” would never recover. We sit back, quietly watching as one or two people at a time post reviews with things like how they couldn’t relate to our characters, or something as bizarre as hating us for no real reason, and we’re expected to take it. We’re supposed to be at the mercy of our readers. Which, before that gets taken the wrong way, I want you all to understand something. We write for our readers. We breathe life into our books for our readers. Why? Because without them , we have nothing. But that does not mean that we should be abused or mistreated. That doesn’t mean we’re attached to strings and forced to dance like puppets. We want to keep a clean image so we say nothing.

Then shit like this happens:

In August of 2014, Interracial Romance author Roslyn Holcomb went to her blog and stated that white people should not be allowed to write about interracial relationships simply because they’re white. (Which, I mean, you’re going to write about people from two different races in a relationship but nobody else can? Seriously? Fuck you.) And recently, the woman said that if she no longer wants to support the LBGQT community and if she ever came across a transgender person (speaking about a Male to Female transition, or as she put it, a “gay boy”) that she would shoot them.

Dumb ass, ignorant behavior like that is why authors fear for themselves and their careers. Every time an author wants to stand up for themselves, they are afraid of being compared to an idiot like that. So we feel like we have to sit back and be quiet. If some authors would get their lives in order and just stop acting foolish, perhaps the forums would be more open and accepting of us standing up for ourselves and expressing our own opinions. We are continuously set back because some authors think that their shit doesn’t stink and they act like it.

I want to work in a community that people are allowed to converse freely without worry that they’re going to be abused or ruin their careers, but we all have to work together to make that happen. There was a time when authors were well respected and I know that it can happen again. Respect the author. Respect the reviewer. Calm the fuck down.

 

About Maegan Provan

I am an indie author and proud of it. I try to update as much as humanly possible, but I'm a busy bee.

Posted on March 30, 2015, in Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Holy shnikey! She seriously said that?? I know that’s a tiny part of the message here but I had not heard of that before so I’m still in initial shock.
    As to the main message, it’s a shame that people use reviews against one another, especially over personal issues. I have author who have pissed me off and never once did I think of trying to ruin them. Bit we live on that culture. As a society we encourage people to lie, cheat, etc etc to “ruin” someone who “deserves it”. It’s in movies, books, TV, you name it. We glorify revenge and call it “standing up for ourselves” and as long as that continues to be accepted and even encouraged we’ll continue to see stuff like that.

Leave a Reply

My Witchy Path

Walking the path of the Goddess, one step at a time.

Parenting PTSD

Parenting Children with PTSD

REDEFINE RADICAL: STYLE BY AMY

See: Beautiful, Elegant, Bold

Three Quarters & Counting

Everyday activities of blogger who (age wise) is "three quarters and counting."

Silver RavenWolf

Author Blog -- The Crow at the Crossroads

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Authors to Watch

Discover a new book today!

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Jane Dougherty Writes

About fantastical places and other stuff

ramblingsfromthedarkness.wordpress.com/

Blogging from your phone has never been so...full of typos?

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

authorsinterviews

My interviews with many authors

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Punch Myself in the Face

The things that run through my brain every day

Paige Matthews

Erotica with a side of Kink

cnlesley

C.N. Lesley writes fantasy and science fiction books

E. J. Rycer

Follow an aspiring author on her literary journey!

Brianna soloski, Word Master

i eat words for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

rushboundblog

Crescent Bound and More

patrick o'scheen

Patrick O'Scheen --author

New Adult Fiction Addiction

Where Readers and Writers of New Adult Fiction Connect

wetinkpresspublishing

Pre-publishing Services for eBooks and Print Publications

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Darker Passions

Reviews and more of PNR, UF, and darker things.

Random Musings of a Pseudo-Madman, Version 2.0

The sometimes insightful, but many times inane observations of a self-proclaimed Sh*thead living on one side of the proverbial wormhole of existence.

Jennifer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Kanundra's Blog

Writing and life. Life and writing.

Cally Jackson Writes

Inspired, hopeful, aspiring author

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Delaware Reason

A Tomahawk of Reason in a Skull Full of Lies

Shaven Wookiee

NO DROIDS WERE HARMED IN THE MAKING OF THIS BLOG....

darkparanormalromanceseries

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

JULIANN RICH

WRITER. PFLAG MOM. ADVOCATE.

Wendy Nystrom

Life As A Published Author

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Lisa V. Proulx, Bestselling Author

Official Blog of Author Lisa V. Proulx

The Writer's Block

Authors and Books R us, tell everyone about us.

twilightofmagic

Where does magic begin...and end?

Cold

The way revenge is best served; the way a war was fought; the way a story should be told. ©

Prescription For Murder

MURDER...MAYHEM...MEDICINE

