BLOG Monday

Still slowly chipping away at the first draft. I have less time than I thought. I’m also still having some technical difficulties as far as editing goes, so I might have to do a written GtSP and film the required episode later.

 

If you guys have any ideas for what you’d like to see in upcoming blog posts or vlogs, please leave a comment!

 

Also, to reward you for your patients here is a sneak peak from Jeremy. In Harper’s PoV, of course. I hope you like it!:

Fort Wayne, Indiana

March, 2008

Snow crunched under my feet as I walked to our apartment. A lone car slowly sputtered down the street, trying to keep traction. I silently prayed for them to crash. I was hungry.  Still early in to the month, the snow had yet to truly start to melt and it was keeping people off the streets. At least, I thought it had. The sound of another person trying to walk along quietly put my nerves on edge. Damn it.

I cut across the street and down a few blocks to a closed business. The footsteps sped up, trying to stay on me. I approached the door, looked around to make sure that there weren’t any human witnesses. Grabbing the door handle, I turned it hard enough to break and slipped inside. Quickly, I headed to the back, trying to hide behind shelves filled with beauty products and accessories. The door opened again just as I snuck into the back room. Towers of boxes created coverage as I thought out my plan. I hurried over to the exit and kicked the door open before dashing back behind a few of them. Peaking around my hiding spot, I saw a figure dash through the back door and out into the night. Smirking, I stood up and headed back towards the front of the store.

When I finally got back home, Lily and Jason were sitting on the couch in their pajamas, a repeat of the evening news playing on the television. They barely glanced my way when I slammed the door, locking it behind me.

“I was followed again,” I sighed, tossing my bag onto the counter. “They’re getting too close.”

Jason shook his head. “We’re fine. I’ve got eyes and ears on the street. If we were in any real danger, they’d call.”

Just then, his phone rang. Lily sat up and looked at him. “You’re kidding right?”

“Go start packing, just in case.” He waived us off as he answered the phone.

Lily and I nodded to each other and dashed off to our bedrooms. Even though we had been successfully stationary for close to ten years, we made sure to have an evacuation plan in place. As the world rushed into the twenty- first century, Slayers became more prevalent. Always lurking in the shadows, and encroaching on our territory. We never knew when we would have to make a run for it. Just as I closed the lid on my suitcase, Jason burst into the room.

“We have to go.” His face was serious and dark. “Now!”

Grabbing the handle, I ran to the front door with Lily and Jason not far behind. I pulled out my phone and handed it to him, knowing that it wouldn’t be coming with me. Since cellphones had become more popular, Jason’s paranoia had hit a new high. He made sure to remind us that they would be left behind if we had to run, on the off chance the Slayers found out who we were. He was constantly concerned about them tracking our signals. With a crunch, he broke the rectangular objects like they were nothing. Lily threw the door open, and we ran out the hall and down the stairs. As we reached the front entrance, a swarm of Slayers, clad in black, surrounded the front door.

“Back this way,” I shouted, sprinting up the stairs two at a time. I led them up to the roof, slamming the door behind us, and doing what I could to keep them from opening it too easily.

“Where now,” Lily asked, panic raising her voice a couple of octaves.

I ran to the edge of the building and quickly assessed our situation. “Okay, we have two roofs this way. If we jump across, we can get down into the alley and have enough time to hide out until they’re gone.”

Before either of them had time to respond, I backed up and jumped across the gap, landing solidly on the next roof. A loud bang on the door forced Lily out of her worry. Grabbing Jason’s hand, the two bound across together. I bit back a twinge of jealousy at their concern for one another and turned to the next jumping point. I ran as fast as I could and jumped.

We landed in the alley as the Slayers made their way out on to the first roof. Leading the way, I ducked around cars and tried to get us to a safe spot. A few hours before dawn, we found an old house that had appeared to have been abandoned long ago. The windows and doors were boarded up, and brown weeds and dead bushes peeked through the snow. Walking around to the side of the house, Jason pulled one of the large boards from the window and we all squeezed inside.

“I think we should hide here for the day,” Lily suggested as she shrugged off her jacket. “The Slayers will be swarming our place trying to collect evidence.”

“I’ll make a few phone calls. See if I can get somebody to come get our stuff.” Jason sat down on the floor, crossing his feet and leaning against the wall.

“Don’t let them forget my curtains,” I shouted as I walked off into another room, wanting to explore the place.

“I won’t,” Jason sighed.

I rounded the corner and wound up in the kitchen. The old vibe that still lingered in what was left of the cabinets and fixtures reminded me of my family. I sat down in the spot where a refrigerator obviously used to be positioned and leaned my head back against the wall with a sigh. I missed my family, my old life, and most of all, I missed not having to run from Slayers. Anger bubbled up inside of me at the thought of what had happened to me. The First Born was responsible for my life being torn to pieces. He was responsible for every time we had to run, and every time we had to fear for our lives. I hated him more than anything in this world. I hated that I couldn’t do anything about it even more.

About Maegan Provan

I am an indie author and proud of it. I try to update as much as humanly possible, but I'm a busy bee.

Posted on October 13, 2014, in book preview, book updates, Vlog Monday. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

My Witchy Path

Walking the path of the Goddess, one step at a time.

Parenting PTSD

Parenting Children with PTSD

REDEFINE RADICAL: STYLE BY AMY

See: Beautiful, Elegant, Bold

Three Quarters & Counting

Everyday activities of blogger who (age wise) is "three quarters and counting."

Silver RavenWolf

Author Blog -- The Crow at the Crossroads

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Authors to Watch

Discover a new book today!

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Jane Dougherty Writes

About fantastical places and other stuff

ramblingsfromthedarkness.wordpress.com/

Blogging from your phone has never been so...full of typos?

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

authorsinterviews

My interviews with many authors

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Punch Myself in the Face

The things that run through my brain every day

Paige Matthews

Erotica with a side of Kink

cnlesley

C.N. Lesley writes fantasy and science fiction books

E. J. Rycer

Follow an aspiring author on her literary journey!

Brianna soloski, Word Master

i eat words for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

rushboundblog

Crescent Bound and More

patrick o'scheen

Patrick O'Scheen --author

New Adult Fiction Addiction

Where Readers and Writers of New Adult Fiction Connect

wetinkpresspublishing

Pre-publishing Services for eBooks and Print Publications

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Darker Passions

Reviews and more of PNR, UF, and darker things.

Random Musings of a Pseudo-Madman, Version 2.0

The sometimes insightful, but many times inane observations of a self-proclaimed Sh*thead living on one side of the proverbial wormhole of existence.

Jennifer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Kanundra's Blog

Writing and life. Life and writing.

Cally Jackson Writes

Inspired, hopeful, aspiring author

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Delaware Reason

A Tomahawk of Reason in a Skull Full of Lies

Shaven Wookiee

NO DROIDS WERE HARMED IN THE MAKING OF THIS BLOG....

darkparanormalromanceseries

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

JULIANN RICH

WRITER. PFLAG MOM. ADVOCATE.

Wendy Nystrom

Life As A Published Author

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Lisa V. Proulx, Bestselling Author

Official Blog of Author Lisa V. Proulx

The Writer's Block

Authors and Books R us, tell everyone about us.

twilightofmagic

Where does magic begin...and end?

Cold

The way revenge is best served; the way a war was fought; the way a story should be told. ©

Prescription For Murder

MURDER...MAYHEM...MEDICINE

