New Year’s Resolution

2013 started off at a great pace. I completed finished and published my first novel, and I was feeling amazing! Then life happened. I changed jobs, got so busy that I lost motivation. From April 2013 to now, I have been battling chapter, book and over arching story line problems, losing my focus, self doubt, and so many other things that I couldn’t possibly know exactly where to start. I had so many people asking me when I was planning on Jeremy getting completed, but I couldn’t come up with a realistic answer. I was supposed to complete Jeremy before Christmas, but that didn’t happen. This year after Celine came out has been me disappointing myself time and again. Add to that the glaringly obvious fact that so many people were wanting me to deliver something that I just couldn’t. So that little voice in my head that is all too familiar to everyone on the planet came along and let me know that I wasn’t good enough to do this.

I tried to fight it off

 

I tired participating in NANOWRIMO, being an admin in not one but two Facebook groups (New Adult Fiction Addiction and Authors To Watch)… anything to get the creative juices flowing and it just wasn’t happening. Every once in a while the spark would come back and I would knock a chapter out. That clearly didn’t happen too often because I am staring at an outline for Chapter 9 wondering if this is too early for Silas to have a few minor revelations. I have been wondering whether my putting it off has something to do with the fact that Jeremy is a preacher, and I am not religious in the slightest. Everything has started to seem like a big waste of time and I have often thought of just giving up here.

 

But with the new year comes new beginnings right? I started thinking about things going in to 2014. What are my goals? What is my dream? Didn’t I start this to see it through to the end? I think I may have come up with an amazing plan for 2014 and I am actually excited to see 2014 get here! I decided that I would share that list here, and I hope that you guys help keep me honest. I have a lot I want to do, so let’s get start with that list.

 

Maegan’s New Year’s Resolutions for 2014 (Literary Edition):

1. Finish Jeremy- This goes to the top of the list because I really want to get it done and move on. There is so much of the story left to tell you

2. Do more features- I want to start doing interviews, and features for some of my friends. I obviously like to feature more than just authors, so we’ll see. I may extend this out to strangers, but I still want to have time to write.

3. Promote more- I don’t expect to become some international sensation or anything like that; I just want people to read my story.

4. Work on Zombie Novel- This is pretty much self explanatory

5. Launch promotional service  and other (currently secret) ventures- So much room to grow!

 

I plan to stick to this as best as I can. Wish me luck!

 

What about you? What are your plans for 2014? Comment below or give a video response.

 

About Maegan Provan

I am an indie author and proud of it. I try to update as much as humanly possible, but I'm a busy bee.

Posted on December 28, 2013, in book updates, Inspiration, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

My Witchy Path

Walking the path of the Goddess, one step at a time.

Parenting PTSD

Parenting Children with PTSD

REDEFINE RADICAL: STYLE BY AMY

See: Beautiful, Elegant, Bold

Three Quarters & Counting

Everyday activities of blogger who (age wise) is "three quarters and counting."

Silver RavenWolf

Author Blog -- The Crow at the Crossroads

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Authors to Watch

Discover a new book today!

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Jane Dougherty Writes

About fantastical places and other stuff

ramblingsfromthedarkness.wordpress.com/

Blogging from your phone has never been so...full of typos?

Jordan's Croft - Fiber Arts

K. A. Jordan - Crofter & Novelist

authorsinterviews

My interviews with many authors

Amaranthine by Joleene Naylor

The world of the Amaranthine vampire series by Joleene Naylor

A Writer's Life For Me.

Blog of Author Mishka Jenkins

Punch Myself in the Face

The things that run through my brain every day

Paige Matthews

Erotica with a side of Kink

cnlesley

C.N. Lesley writes fantasy and science fiction books

E. J. Rycer

Follow an aspiring author on her literary journey!

Brianna soloski, Word Master

i eat words for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

rushboundblog

Crescent Bound and More

patrick o'scheen

Patrick O'Scheen --author

New Adult Fiction Addiction

Where Readers and Writers of New Adult Fiction Connect

wetinkpresspublishing

Pre-publishing Services for eBooks and Print Publications

lindseyjparsons

Author, Dragon Lover, Hopeless Dreamer

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Darker Passions

Reviews and more of PNR, UF, and darker things.

Random Musings of a Pseudo-Madman, Version 2.0

The sometimes insightful, but many times inane observations of a self-proclaimed Sh*thead living on one side of the proverbial wormhole of existence.

Jennifer's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Kanundra's Blog

Writing and life. Life and writing.

Cally Jackson Writes

Inspired, hopeful, aspiring author

Writers with Vision

Author promotion blogsite

Shaven Wookiee

NO DROIDS WERE HARMED IN THE MAKING OF THIS BLOG....

darkparanormalromanceseries

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

JULIANN RICH

WRITER. PFLAG MOM. ADVOCATE.

Wendy Nystrom

Life As A Published Author

Sophie E Tallis - Author/Illustrator

Home of the Mistress of Wolves: writing, publishing, fantasy, epic storytelling, art, life, creativity and everything in between!

Lisa V. Proulx, Author/Speaker

Official Website of Author Lisa V. Proulx

The Writer's Block

Authors and Books R us, tell everyone about us.

twilightofmagic

Where does magic begin...and end?

Cold

The way revenge is best served; the way a war was fought; the way a story should be told. ©

Prescription For Murder

MURDER...MAYHEM...MEDICINE

...And Everything in Between...

Welcome to the world of my Life, my Writing and Everything in Between...

